Home » Dinner » Vegan Pot Pie

Vegan Pot Pie

Ever since I was a little girl I ate what I wanted regardless of whether or not it was PC food for that meal. I broke my arm in second grade doing gymnastics and when the EMT’s asked my mom what I ate for breakfast she replied “Ravioli.” Which of course the EMT’s gave my mom a weird look, again she replied “Hey, at least I got the kid to eat something!” (I really never have been a fan of traditional breakfast foods)

My point being, it’s Florida in the middle of Summer and I want Veggie Pot Pie!! Which when living in Chicago was something I loved on a cool fall day to warm me up. I’m already warm living in FL now but I don’t care it’s what I want and what my body wants. Try to listen to what your body tells you when you have a craving for a certain type of food (I’m not talking about sweets, soda and junk food). There are times I crave beans or veggie proteins and I know my body is telling me I need more protein so I listen. Sometimes all I want are greens, again I feel when I have a strong craving for these foods my body is trying to balance out my carb/fat/protein ratios and vitamins and minerals.

Start listening to your body! And give it the food fuel it needs! Hope you enjoy my Veggie Pot Pie- Cheers

Pot Pie

Ingredients

1/4 cup peas

1/4 cup corn

2 carrots, sliced

1/2 cup mushrooms, diced

1 cup chik’n strips, diced

1/4 cup onion, diced

2 tbsp water

1 cup vegetable broth

1 cups almond milk, unsweetened

3 tbsp chickpea flour

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

2 cloves garlic, pressed

1 tbsp black pepper

1 tsp lawyers salt

Directions

  1. Heat 2 tbsp of water in saute pan over medium heat and add: carrots, onions, pea, corn, mushrooms, chik’n strips and saute for 5 minutes.
  2. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Mix a rue with almond milk and chickpea flour/nutritional yeast until it becomes thick.
  4. Add vegetable broth to sauteed veggies and turn heat to low and let simmer 2 minutes.
  5. Gradually stir in almond milk rue until it is evenly mixed. Add garlic, salt and pepper. Continue to cook on low for 2 minutes.
  6. Fill oven save bowls or ramekins 3/4 with pot pie and cook at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.
  7. OPTIONS: After 10 minutes in the oven: add shredded vegan cheese or dairy cheese and stir continue cooking last 10 minutes. Add a biscuit on top of the ramekin and cook remaining 10 minutes.
  8. Remove pot pies from oven and let stand 10 minutes to cool.
  9. Best part = EAT, nom nom nom 🙂
Leave a Reply

