Home » Dinner » Redskin Mashed, Egg Noodles with Chik’n Chunks and Steamed Broccoli

Redskin Mashed, Egg Noodles with Chik’n Chunks and Steamed Broccoli

Mashed Pot and Noodles

Can I just say “COMFORT FOOD!!”  This is my version of a family tradition. My grandma and mom would make egg noodles with chicken broth and mashed potatoes, it’s totally fantastic, anytime I’m missing home this dinner cheers me right up! I use veggie broth instead of chicken and buy my egg noodles; my great aunt makes the best homemade egg noodles that my family always uses for this. I’m not so good at making the egg noodles from scratch. I hope this brings you a full belly with a smile on your face!

 

1 bunch broccoli, chopped

red pepper to taste

6 oz egg noodles, wide or narrow (I like No Yolks brand)

1 bag frozen chik’n strips by Quorn, diced

3 quarts vegetable broth

1-2 extra cups of vegetable broth

2 tbsp nutritional yeast

1 tsp Lawyer’s salt

2 cups redskin potatoes, diced

1/2 cup greek yogurt

1/4 cup soy milk

Fresh chives, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Noodles:

  1. Bring 3 quarts of vegetable broth to a rapid boil.
  2. Add slowly 6 oz of egg noodles and diced chik’n strips stirring occasionally. Then add nutritional yeast and Lawyer’s salt. Boil uncovered 10-12 minutes or until tender.
  3. Optional: Add an extra cup or 2 of vegetable broth to make it more soupy.

Mashed Redskins:

I’m not going to tell you how to make mashed potatoes, I’m sure everyone out there has a way they like to make them, so do that!! I like to use soy milk and Greek yogurt or cream cheese when I mash mine. Dealer’s choice! Make your favorite version of mashed potatoes.

Broccoli:

  1. I use a steam basket in a sauté pan to steam my vegetables. Please 1/2 cup of water in sauté pan, place steamer inside, broccoli on top and bring to boil with the lid on the pan. Once the broccoli is bright green remove from heat to ensure it doesn’t over cook. About 3-6 minutes depending on you stovetop. Top with red pepper.

Plate: I plated them separate in the picture but you can get a big bowl and put a scoop of potatoes then noodles and top with broccoli, it’s delicious!! Very filling since it’s all carbs but it’s worth it!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Redskin Mashed, Egg Noodles with Chik’n Chunks and Steamed Broccoli

Leave a Reply

